Board of Directors

Board Vice Chairman
Executive Director

Alicia Wilson received her BA in Religion and Sociology/Anthropology from Swarthmore College and began working in the social services field immediately after graduating. She first served as a case manager working with the homeless and working poor in and around Washington, DC, then shifted to working with HIV-positive Latinos at La Clínica del Pueblo.

In 2001, Ms. Wilson joined the development department of La Clínica and in 2002 became the Director of Grants and Contracts Administration. Ms. Wilson was responsible for overseeing grant writing and fundraising efforts for the agency’s then $7.5 million annual budget, of which 75% was grants and contracts, as well as public relations and many longer-term projects for the clinic. After playing an increasing role in the leadership of the clinic, Ms. Wilson was selected to be La Clínica’s Executive Director, beginning in January, 2009.

Ms. Wilson currently sits on the Board of Directors of the DC Primary Care Association and the Institute for Public Health Innovation, and serves on the DC Department of Health Bureau of Cancer and Chronic Disease Community Leadership Team. She has played an active role in local healthcare advocacy through her frequent testimony in front of the DC City Council, as well as her work in coalitions across the region. Ms. Wilson was recently named a “2015 Disruptive Woman to Watch” by Disruptive Women in Healthcare.

Board Chairman
Don Blanchon began his tenure as executive director of Whitman-Walker on May 1, 2006. Before that, he spent nine years READ MORE
Board Vice Chairman
Alicia Wilson received her BA in Religion and Sociology/Anthropology from Swarthmore College and began working in the social services field READ MORE
Orhan, CPA
Board Treasurer
Zeynep Orhan, CPA is a senior manager at Hertzbach & Company, P.A. Zeynep’s experience is in assurance services and outsourced READ MORE
Dr. Rhonique
Shields-Harris, MD
Board Secretary
Rhonique Shields-Harris is a board certified pediatrician who previously served as the Chief Medical Officer and Vice President of Medical READ MORE
Immediate Past Board Chairman
George A. Jones became Chief Executive Officer of Bread for the City (BFTC) on January 2, 1996. BFTC’s mission is READ MORE
Julie's two passions — growing technology organizations and making the world a better place. She began her career working with READ MORE
Maria S.
Gomez, RN, MPH
Maria S. Gomez is the founder of Mary’s Center, a community health organization providing health care, education and social services READ MORE
Flora Terrell
Hamilton, DSW, LICSW, LCSW-C
Flora Terrell Hamilton, DSW, LICSW, LCSW-C, Executive Director, is a founder of Family and Medical Counseling Service, Inc. (FMCS), incorporated READ MORE
Vincent A.
Vincent A. Keane is currently President/CEO of Unity Health Care, Inc. (Unity), Washington, D.C.  Unity, a Federally Qualified Health Center READ MORE
Ed has led the work of the DC Fiscal Policy Institute since its inception in 2001. Under his leadership, DCFPI READ MORE
Sweeney McShane
Kelly Sweeney McShane is a well-respected and innovative nonprofit leader in Washington, DC. For over 20 years, she has worked tirelessly READ MORE
Lillie-Blanton, DrPH
Associate Research Professor
Marsha Lillie-Blanton is a public health professional with more than 30 years of experience working on health and health care READ MORE
Institute Fellow
Robert Berenson, is an Institute Fellow at the Urban Institute in Washington DC. He is an expert in health care READ MORE